Daily The Business

NA defence committee to visit GHQ on April 4

ISLAMABAD: Defence committee of the National Assembly (NA) will visit the General Headquarters (GHQ) on April 4 over the invitation of the Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa.

The 21-member committee will be headed by its chairman Amjad Ali Khan. The members include Tahir Sadiq, Chaudhary Farrukh Altaf, Syed Faiz Ul Hassan, Muhammad Barjees Tahir, Ijaz Ahmad Shah, Riazul Haq, Muhammad Khan Daha, Aurangzeb Khan Khichi, Alam Dad Laleka, Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Ghous Bux Khan Mahar, Khursheed Ahmed Junejo, Aftab Shahban Mirani, Amer Ali Khan Magsi, Jamil Ahmed Khan, Aminul Haque, Salahuddin Ayubi, Rubina Irfan and Ramesh Kumar Vankwani.

The Army Chief will give a detailed briefing to the committee, comprising parliamentarians from the opposition as well, over the situation of Line of Control (LoC), Working Boundary and international borders.

The parliamentarians will be apprised regarding the military’s response over provocations by India in bordering areas.

Moreover, the Army Chief will take the defence committee into confidence over matters relating to the armed forces.

The committee will also pay a visit to Yadgar-e-Shuhada.

On February 27, an in-camera briefing to parliamentary leaders had been given over Indian aggression in Parliament House after two fighter jets of Indian Air Force (IAF) were shot down by Pakistan Air Force (PAF) in bright day light over violation of Line of Control (LoC), and in a robust response, the PAF destroyed two aircraft of IAF inside Pakistani airspace.

The session was attended by Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi from government side while opposition leaders including Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari and others were also present.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.