Daily The Business

PTI, MQM-P strike deal to form govt in Centre


The Business Report

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P) have struck an agreement to form government in Centre, on Friday.
The nine-point agreement was signed by PTI’s Arif Alvi and MQM-P’s Faisal Sabzwari.
This was announced by PTI leader Jahangir Tahreen while addressing a joint press conference with MQM-P leaders, who held a meeting with Imran Khan at Bani Gala. Tareen said, “PTI and MQM have reached an agreement for support.”
Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui said the agreement PTI and MQM-P have struck was constitutional requirement and the need of the country, adding the requirements of democracy and national interest was above the political interest in the deal.
Earlier, MQM-P delegation led by Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui held a meeting with Imran Khan where they assured PTI of support in the centre.
MQM okays support to PTI in exchange for package
Another report adds: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) on Friday inked an agreement with the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), promising to extend its support to the latter for the formation of government in the Centre.
In exchange for MQM-P’s support for the upcoming federal government, PTI promised that a special federal package will be announced for Karachi, with an emphasis on the provision of water for its residents.
Additionally, the PTI agreed that Sindh police reforms will be implemented, a university will be established in Hyderabad, and constituencies identified by MQM-P will also be audited, read the memorandum of understanding.
“The agreement was a constitutional and democratic necessity,” said MQM leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui.
Earlier on Wednesday, the MQM-P had announced its decision to support the PTI for the formation of the upcoming federal government.
The party has won six NA seats in the July 25 election.
Other parties that won NA seats and have declared their support for PTI include Pakistan Muslim League-Q with four seats; GDA with two; Balochistan Awami Party with four; Awami Muslim League and Jamhoori Watan Party with one seat each.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.